A Son of God

So I’m really behind in posts and have had little to no time to write over the past few months but I am hopefully getting back into the groove. Actually, I was hoping to keep up with writing/posting at least one song per month as my 2011 New Years resolution. However, it is already February and I am behind. I have part of my January song recorded but it kind of stalled out. Anyway, this song was actually part of an assignment for me to finish one of my LAMP courses. I went through Sonship last year and this song was written to express all that I learned during that time. Understanding what it means to be a son of God has really had an affect on me, the way I see myself before God and the way that I more confidently stand on God’s promises in the moment.

This was recorded live during worship on Sunday, February 13th.

Vocals: Nathan Partain, Kyle Ragsdale, Rebekah Osborn
Guitar: Nathan Partain
Fiddle: Kipp Normand
Mandolin: Kyle Edgell
Washboard and other noises: Brian Allee, Elyce Elder
Bass: Joel Chodakowski
Djembe: Wes Homoya

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

A Son of God       (listen) (chord chart)

I lie down and rest,
Cause I work no longer.
I breathe in, refreshed no more soiled in disgrace.
I look up at him to whom I am kneeling,
And I see delight there in my Father’s face.

I’m a son of God, and love is my freedom.
I can ask anything of my Father the King.
I’m an heir, I’m adopted and my brother is Jesus.
I’m a son of God and my soul is at peace.

I am last and low,
Cause I fight no longer,
To be right, or good or to prove my own worth.
I’m not driven or pushed or weighed down with duty.
I am filled with release that Christ did all for me.

I’m a son of God, and love is my freedom.
I can ask anything of my Father the King.
I’m an heir, I’m adopted and my brother is Jesus.
I’m a son of God and my soul is at peace.

I stand up in faith,
Cause I fear no longer,
And I pray and wait for God to provide.
I lean all of my weight on him who is able,
And I set aside every effort of mine.

I’m a son of God, and love is my freedom.
I can ask anything of my Father the King.
I’m an heir, I’m adopted and my brother is Jesus.
I’m a son of God and my soul is at peace.

I know now, I’m safe,
Cause nothing can harm me,
Or break in and take what’s stored up for me.
I need not to cling to dead helpless idols,
They no longer can hold any comfort for me.

I’m a son of God, and love is my freedom.
I can ask anything of my Father the King.
I’m an heir, I’m adopted and my brother is Jesus.
I’m a son of God and my soul is at peace.

16 Responses to “A Son of God”

  1. Roger Williams Says:

    Beautiful and prophetic, Nathan & co. – keep up the great work!

  2. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bruce Benedict, Redeemer Pres (Indy). Redeemer Pres (Indy) said: New Nathan Partain music "A Son of God" from Feb 13th. Washboard and other noises included. http://bit.ly/fSNZ0k [...]

  3. Hello Nathan, this is Joe from Phos/Ontos. My friend Jon goes to Redeemer, and he introduced me to some of your music; we’re both playing “Look There! The Christ!” at our youth group. Thank you for sending the lead sheet and MP3s to Curtis; they’re really helpful for learning the song and I appreciate them a lot (I like that live version – you should post it here!). Thanks again and keep up the Lord’s work!

  4. Nathan, your song writing is a blessing to your brothers and sisters in Seattle.

    Grace,
    Mark

  5. Dan Price Says:

    We just sang this today at Riverview in Michigan. Great song Nathan.

  6. David Slade Says:

    Yesterday in Rome, Georgia as well. Beautiful song.

  7. Steve Bostrom Says:

    Dear Nathan, we’re starting a PCA church in Helena MT. We’dlike to obtain the lead sheet music for “Look There! The Christ! How may we do that? Curiously, Steve Bostrom

    • partainwordsandmusic Says:

      Hey Steve, I don’t always have lead sheets for my songs but if I have them you are more than welcome to them. I am pretty sure I have one for “Look There the Christ” so I’ll try to get it to you tomorrow when I get into the office. Thanks.

      Nathan

  8. I just googled this after listening to it at Riverview today because I wanted to download it. Love it!

  9. Hey Nathan,
    I’m wanting to use this piece for a dance class I’m teaching… how do I go about getting your permission & download?
    -calyn

    • partainwordsandmusic Says:

      Hey Calyn, great to hear from you. You totally have my blessing to use the music and should be able to download the file directly from the blog. Click on the “listen” link and it will give you the option to download from there. If you have any issues let me know and I can get it to you another way. Thanks.

      Nathan

  10. We are singing this in our church in Fort Worth now! thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 717 other followers

