Good Friday: Just as I am

So I normally try to steer clear of rewriting classic hymns that people know and love. However, I really like these lyrics (Charlotte Elliot, 1835) and have wanted to write something new to them for a while so for Good Friday I did a rewrite. My focus was really just the first phrase of the song, that I am to come to our Father as I am, without pretense, hiding, self-covering or any of my own goodness.  Not only that, but I am to come free of fear and inhibition, trusting completely in the finished work of Jesus on my behalf.

Vocals: Nathan Partain, Kyle Ragsdale, Bethany Hodge
Acoustic guitar: Nathan Partain
Harmonica: Jeremy Grimmer
Washboard: Elyce Elder
Bass drum: Brian Allee
Junk: Kipp Normand
Bass: Joel Chodakowski

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Just as I am    (listen)      (chord chart)    

Just as I am, without one plea, But that Thy blood was shed for me,
And that Thou bidst me come to Thee, O Lamb I come.
Just as I am, and waiting not, To rid my soul of one dark blot,
To Thee whose blood can cleanse each spot, O Lamb I come.

Just as I am, though tossed about, Confused, conflicted, full of doubts,
Fightings and fears within, without, O Lamb I come.
Just as I am, poor, wretched, blind; Sight, riches, healing of the mind,
Yea, all in Thee I need to find, O Lamb I come.

Just as I am I come, Receiving all you’ve done.
And covered in your blood, I’m held within your love.

Just as I am, Thy love unknown, Hath broken every barrier down;
Now, to be Thine and Thine alone, O Lamb I come.
Just as I am, Thou will receive, Will welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve;
Because Thy promise I believe, O Lamb I come. 

 Just as I am I come, Receiving all you’ve done.
And covered in your blood, I’m held within your love.

You won for me full forgiveness, Just as I am O Lamb I come
Set free from fear, I can confess, Just as I am O Lamb I come
I leave my rags of righteousness, Just as I am O Lamb I come
For now I wear your Holiness, Just as I am O Lamb I come 

2 thoughts on “Good Friday: Just as I am

  1. Nathan,
    Thanks for this setting. Its a great hymn but the tune sounds dated to me, even with organ. So your new melody is a great resource.

Leave a comment