Hold Thou my Hand

This is a rewrite of a Fanny Crosby (1879) hymn that I did back in 2002 and have yet to release anywhere. However, since it has become a such a part of our worship at Redeemer and since I have gotten a such a good amount of prodding (Thanks Richard!), I thought I would finally get it posted. Hope it is a blessing to you all!

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Hold Thou My Hand          (listen/download)       (chord chart)

Hold thou my hand; so weak I am, and helpless,
I dare not take one step without thy aid;
Hold thou my hand; for then, O loving Savior,
No dread of ill shall make my soul afraid.

Hold thou my hand, and closer, draw me closer
To thy dear self—my hope, my joy, my all;
Hold thou my hand, lest haply I should wander,
And, missing thee, my trembling feet should fall.

Hold thou my hand; the way is dark before me
Without the sunlight of thy face divine;
But when by faith I catch its radiant glory,
What heights of joy, what rapturous songs are mine!

Hold thou my hand, that when I reach the margin
Of that lone river thou didst cross for me,
A heavenly light may flash along its waters,
And every wave like crystal bright shall be.

Hold thou my hand; so weak I am, and helpless,
I dare not take one step without thy aid;
I dare not take one step without thy aid.

12 thoughts on “Hold Thou my Hand

  1. Incredible timing! I need this song today! I tried to e mail you but it didn’t work. I’m recovering from surgery and I’m struggling with headaches and neck pain. This song is one of my favourites. Thank you for recording it. Your songs are such a blessing.

  2. Thank You Nathan, I’m still going to get a live version (the next time we do it in church) What a great song, Blessing upon you brother, prayers for Shelby for a quick recovery. Now your next assignment Mr. Phelphs, opps Partain, 3 more you have done in church, all great song you have yet to publish. “Be Still My Soul:, “I Will Sing Of My Redeemer”, and “Give Thanks To The Lord”.
    All my love, Richard

  3. Thanks, Nathan. I so much miss Redeemer and our worship there. This is one of my favorite songs and a beautiful, surprising gift to ease my loneliness and hunger for community.

  4. I just looked up this song by Fanny Crosby as I found it reading “From Grief to Glory”, and I was introduced to your music! This song is incredibly impactful to me as me and my wife also have lost a child, like Fanny. Our son’s name was Henryk. I keep listening to your version of the song over and over. Very helpful. Thank you.

    1. So very glad that this song has given you some comfort to you in your profound sorrow and I am truly sorry for the unspeakable loss of your son Henryk. May the Lord continue to hold you fast in his arms and may he heal and provide for you and your family as you grieve upon him.

Leave a Reply

